jump to navigation

Flying to the US tomorrow October 5, 2006

Posted by fukumimi in IT, Travel.
trackback

The relative paucity of posts recently is due to the fact that I have been trying to clear away as much work as possible before my trip to the US which starts tomorrow. (I have a bunch of posts in draft status which I’ll try to finish on the plane or something)

I’m flying to San Francisco and spending a week in Silicon Valley meeting portfolio companies, VCs, and companies which have been identified as prospective investments opportunities. I guess it may be the last chance to use Connexion internet access on the plane (flying JAL this time, which means no meaningful airmiles, but this time I had no choice….)

I really don’t want to travel at this particular time as I have a lot on my plate already, but the trip was scheduled a long time ago and this time I am accompanying the big boss, which I’m sure will be a lot of fun.

It is his first trip overseas since joining our firm (from the mother ship, as is customary for our firm which is majority owned by a large financial institution), and hopefully he’ll appreciate the more eduational aspects of the trip as well as the tourist sights I am expected to show him during the weekend. I decided to spend a day or two on my own in the Valley after I drive the big boss to the airport so I can do a little bit of exploring on my own, and hopefully I won’t be handcuffed to him all weekend either. For starters I need to go shopping for a bunch of books which are difficult and expensive to get hold of here in Japan….

If anyone has any tips for somewhere (or someone?) I should try to visit during my trip (food tips especially welcome, it has been a couple of years since my last trip to that part of the world), feel free to leave a comment or send me an e-mail.

Comments»

1. Payara-Confessor - October 5, 2006

Reads like you’re fairly busy from the language – “eduational”, redundant repetition, etc…. 🙂 [mind you, still better than I can do with a clear head!]

Shoreline billiards in Mountain View is a cool pool hall if that is your cup of tea. Muir Woods is a really cool place to visit if the weather is nice.

Guess our 飲食会 will have to wait until you are back….楽しみにしてんやからさ。

What car will you rent ?- Last time I was there I got a Dodge Charger (5.7l Hemi engine; 367 bhp) which was fun (although the steering sucked, the breaks were mediocre, and the interior was lacking)….

Which books are you after ? I could do with some new recommendations.


Leave a Reply

