jump to navigation

Acronyms August 15, 2006

Posted by fukumimi in general, Internet, IT.
trackback

Kenji Mori asks “why G,Y,M is ordered in that order?”

It is probably because “gym” is a real word, and easy to pronounce. The three letters ordered in any other way doesn’t work as well.

There was a trend towards giving some of the other internet giants (Amazon, Ebay, Fox/Newscorp (post MySpace acquisition) and maybe Time Warner/AOL?) credit by adding them to the acronym, but it didn’t really work and ended up in a weird alphabet soup.

So I went back and played mental scrabble with the letters at hand….
I suppose Google, Amazon, Yahoo, Microsoft, Ebay, Newscorp would spell “GAY MEN”….

Imagine:

An entrepreneur in response to a VC’s question about exit strategy for his new web2.0 startup:

“We hope one of the GAY MEN will buy us…”
Errr.….  Somehow I don’t think “GAY MEN” will enter into the internet/Web2.0/VC vocabulary. Especially the alpha male dominated VC world.
OK, now that I have embarassed myself by showing that I am terrible at humour of this type, I look forward to suggestions….

Comments»

1. kenji mori - August 15, 2006

LOL. I liked GAY MEN very much 🙂
Well, to tell you the truth, first I thought GYM is ordered in ordered of significance.

2. Lyle - August 22, 2006

Thanks Shin, needed a laugh this morning.

nice blog, will check it regularly.

did I introduce you to Chika Watanabe, she has her blog at http://www.chikawatanabe.com/, she is connected to me on linkedin.
cheers,
Lyle


Leave a Reply

