jump to navigation

Japanese VC bloggers August 9, 2006

Posted by fukumimi in Japan, Overseas, VC.
trackback

Last week I was in London and met with fellow VC blogger Jason Ball, and we got on the topic of VC bloggers in Europe and Japan, specifically the apparent lack of them (at least as far as blogging in English is concerned).

In that spirit….

I found a new blog written by another London based VC, Shantanu Bhagwat of Amadeus, who I also happened to meet last week. Shantanu didn’t tell me the name of his blog, but mentioned he had started one, so I dug around and found his blog so I thought I’ll out him here. Shantanu is originally from India, and has spent time in Japan as well.

Japanese (self-professed) VC bloggers are few and far between. There are a few VC bloggers who blog in Japanese, maybe a dozen or so blogs on the first couple of pages for this search for “venture capitalist” in Japanese.

As for English language VC blogs, I am embarassed to say that this blog is the first blog that appears when Googling for a combination of Japan/Japanese and Venture Capitalist/VC (for japanese+venture+capitalist, Joi Ito’s blog is the top entry, does Joi count as a VC? anyway for the other combinations my blog seems to be the solitary blog on the first page of results)….

It’s a pity because I think everyone will win from a more diversified discussion on-line. If there are any VC lurkers reading this, please join us on-line. It would be great to have different VC perspectives from various locales represented on-line.

PS Jason and I were in complete agreement that Peter Rip, the MD at Leapfrog Ventures, is posting some absolutely cracking content recently.

Comments»

1. Shantanu - August 11, 2006

I see that you have a 6 month lead on me already!
Will read through some of the posts over the weekend…Shantanu

2. fukumimi - August 11, 2006

Shantanu,

I’ll get around to posting more VC-ish posts eventually. maybe.

3. Gen Kanai - August 14, 2006

I think Joi is more of an angel these days than a VC.


Leave a Reply

