jump to navigation

Techcrunch Japan launched June 20, 2006

Posted by fukumimi in IT, Japan, Japanese, TechCrunch.
trackback

Michael Arrington of Techcrunch has announced the launch of Techcrunch Japan.

(The RSS feed is http://jp.techcrunch.com/feed/)

There were clues on Techcrunch that this was in the works, with trackbacks on Techcrunch posts from jp.techcrunch.com with  snippets of Japanese text being displayed. (although the links returned error messages at that time before the official launch of the Japanese page)

One big thing I have noticed which differentiates between Techcrunch (and for that matter, Techcrunch France) and Techcrunch Japan is the anonymous nature of the individual(s) behind Techcrunch Japan, who is/(or more likely in the plural) are hidden behind the Japanese site. They have announced that they will be creating original content as well, not just translating stuff written by Messers Arrington and Kirkpatrick, and Monsieur Ohayon. If the Japanese editorial "team" is going to be authoring content, shouldn't the Japanese writers also be identified?

Techcrunch is meant to be about "Web2.0" which I believe emphasises a social component if I am not mistaken, and blogging is meant to be about conversations.

Whilst a recent Japanese survey found that more than 90% of Japanese bloggers are anonymous, I don't think that is really a reason (excuse) for Techcrunch Japan to post anonymously, given their position within the blogosphere.

Anonymous bloggers blogging about anything remotely related to money or business aren't really my cup of tea. YMMV.

Disclosure is (hopefully) a rule which business bloggers all adhere to. I think Michael Arrington should think about the implication of an anonymous "editorial team" being a major component of the Techcrunch Japan outfit.

As for the quality of translation, it isn't bad at all.

However I might make the suggestion that to make it more relevant to Japanese users, the Japan team (who ever they are. Ok, I've made my point and I won't nag any further) might add a line or two about usability from a uniquely Japanese perspective. Handling of Japanese input, any issues with signing up from Japan, etc.

Comments»

1. Gen Kanai - June 20, 2006

I’m going to post a comment daily until they out themselves.

2. fukumimi - June 20, 2006

Gen,

So it wasn’t just me who finds this uncomfortable…..

Perhaps I’ll join you.

3. michael arrington - June 20, 2006

Fukumimi,

First, thank you for the post.

I totally agree that the “team” needs to be announced and hopefully it will soon. Let us just take our first steps. 🙂

I really like the idea of adding a sentence or two about usability to the Japanese audience, I will forward that on.

Mike

4. fukumimi - June 20, 2006

Michael,

Thank you for taking time to comment. I’ve been following TechCrunch since last summer, and appreciate your efforts with regards to giving exposure to companies who have something new and innovative to offer.

Having seen in real time how the French TechCrunch was launched, I felt a certain inconsistency which I felt obliged to point out.

I trust you will address the issue I have raised with due urgency, so as not to tarnish the reputation that the TechCrunch brand has undoubtedly established due to your (and more recently your colleagues’) hard work in the past year.

5. TechCrunch UK launched….. « from the inside, looking in - August 29, 2006

[…] Maybe my feed doesn’t allow me access to that content. Am I persona non grata chez TechCrunch for pointing out the obvious and asking for more disclosure? (see my previous posts 1,2,3) […]


Leave a Reply

